Hello! Welcome to the Michigan Radio & TV Buzzboard. All accepted new account registrations through 12-09-2017 at 9:00a ET have been activated. I apologize for the delay in activating new accounts.

(Note: hover your mouse pointer near the upper right corner of this box and click the "x" to close it.)

Is WGTE a LPTV?

A place to go for those of you who wish to discuss happenings in OH, IN, IL, WI, and Ontario. OSU sucks, by the way.
User avatar
Splouge
Posts: 546
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 2:34 pm
Location: 9 miles from the laziest ever TV station, W33BY, or as they call themselves, WHPR TV

Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by Splouge » Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:11 pm

I mean seriously, the terrible operation on 30.2 ever since it switched to 24 hour PBS Kids has been so terrible that it seems like a LPTV! The logo placement is the same as 30.3, though it looks quite odd on 30.2. The channel is 4:3, while many PBS stations have the new 24 hour channel in 16:9. And the way they resize it is weird too! They don't put black bars on the top and bottom of the image to maintain the 16:9 ratio, they make the image look squished! It makes older PBS Kids shows that were originally fullscreen almost unwatchable without changing your TV's size settings. Not as bad as WMNT though
One time, I got WYZZ Peoria 330 miles away indoors clearly for 10 minutes on Dec 5, 2015

User avatar
WOHO
Posts: 1110
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:05 am
Location: Mourning the assasination of 1470 KHz by Cumulus

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by WOHO » Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:44 am

How can WMNT operate without providing Closed Captioning? My old man can't hear the audio most of the time. They did have a movie on this week that the CC passed thru, but that's been it- nothing on 48.2 or 48.4 in CC.
I will check out 30.2 since the change.

User avatar
Splouge
Posts: 546
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 2:34 pm
Location: 9 miles from the laziest ever TV station, W33BY, or as they call themselves, WHPR TV

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by Splouge » Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:34 am

WOHO wrote:
Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:44 am
How can WMNT operate without providing Closed Captioning? My old man can't hear the audio most of the time. They did have a movie on this week that the CC passed thru, but that's been it- nothing on 48.2 or 48.4 in CC.
I will check out 30.2 since the change.
Didn't you once say that WMNT-DT4 is presented in 4:4? I don't know what that would look like, but it's probably more watchable than WGTE-DT2.
One time, I got WYZZ Peoria 330 miles away indoors clearly for 10 minutes on Dec 5, 2015

User avatar
WOHO
Posts: 1110
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:05 am
Location: Mourning the assasination of 1470 KHz by Cumulus

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by WOHO » Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:36 pm

I checked out 30.2 tonight, and on my TV at least, it automatically swapped from the 4:3 Artur show to a proper 16:9 promo, so maybe you need to set your "zoom" to "auto", as tonight it was working fine using an antenna feed.

User avatar
Some Guy from Toledo
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:12 pm

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by Some Guy from Toledo » Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:46 am

WOHO wrote:
Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:44 am
How can WMNT operate without providing Closed Captioning? My old man can't hear the audio most of the time. They did have a movie on this week that the CC passed thru, but that's been it- nothing on 48.2 or 48.4 in CC.
I will check out 30.2 since the change.
WMNT has and will always be a cheap operation given the money they ever put into it.

ftballfan
Posts: 786
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 6:38 pm
Location: Ypsilanti, MI

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by ftballfan » Wed Apr 05, 2017 2:55 pm

Some Guy from Toledo wrote:
Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:46 am
WOHO wrote:
Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:44 am
How can WMNT operate without providing Closed Captioning? My old man can't hear the audio most of the time. They did have a movie on this week that the CC passed thru, but that's been it- nothing on 48.2 or 48.4 in CC.
I will check out 30.2 since the change.
WMNT has and will always be a cheap operation given the money they ever put into it.
At least WMNT did put the money in to convert to digital a few years ago!

User avatar
Some Guy from Toledo
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:12 pm

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by Some Guy from Toledo » Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:14 pm

ftballfan wrote:
Wed Apr 05, 2017 2:55 pm
Some Guy from Toledo wrote:
Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:46 am
WOHO wrote:
Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:44 am
How can WMNT operate without providing Closed Captioning? My old man can't hear the audio most of the time. They did have a movie on this week that the CC passed thru, but that's been it- nothing on 48.2 or 48.4 in CC.
I will check out 30.2 since the change.
WMNT has and will always be a cheap operation given the money they ever put into it.
At least WMNT did put the money in to convert to digital a few years ago!
There's that. We woudln't get those channels at all had they not.

User avatar
Splouge
Posts: 546
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 2:34 pm
Location: 9 miles from the laziest ever TV station, W33BY, or as they call themselves, WHPR TV

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by Splouge » Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:49 pm

As if all this is not enough, WGTE 30.2 aired a commercial about funding the other day, the woman in the ad said the area code for WGTE was 419, but the bottom of the screen said 866. Even worse, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXB2c0my4i0
One time, I got WYZZ Peoria 330 miles away indoors clearly for 10 minutes on Dec 5, 2015

User avatar
RingtailedFox
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: A raccoon's nest high up in a tree in west Windsor, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by RingtailedFox » Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:49 pm

Oops! :P
~ The Legendary Raccoon-Fox has spoken!

User avatar
rugratsonline
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 1:20 pm

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by rugratsonline » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:24 pm

Splouge wrote:
Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:49 pm
As if all this is not enough, WGTE 30.2 aired a commercial about funding the other day, the woman in the ad said the area code for WGTE was 419, but the bottom of the screen said 866. Even worse, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXB2c0my4i0
Do some of Ohio's PBS outlets share the same master control?

User avatar
Some Guy from Toledo
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:12 pm

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by Some Guy from Toledo » Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:10 am

rugratsonline wrote:
Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:24 pm
Splouge wrote:
Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:49 pm
As if all this is not enough, WGTE 30.2 aired a commercial about funding the other day, the woman in the ad said the area code for WGTE was 419, but the bottom of the screen said 866. Even worse, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXB2c0my4i0
Do some of Ohio's PBS outlets share the same master control?
Dayton's "ThinkTV" apparently operates all three stations within the Cincinnati-Dayton area, going by Wiki for WPTD/WPTO and WCET. Does seem odd if they're starting to tackle other stations in the state somehow.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WPTD

User avatar
Splouge
Posts: 546
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 2:34 pm
Location: 9 miles from the laziest ever TV station, W33BY, or as they call themselves, WHPR TV

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by Splouge » Mon May 22, 2017 8:33 pm

Now 30.2's audio is distorted!
One time, I got WYZZ Peoria 330 miles away indoors clearly for 10 minutes on Dec 5, 2015

User avatar
WOHO
Posts: 1110
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:05 am
Location: Mourning the assasination of 1470 KHz by Cumulus

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by WOHO » Fri May 26, 2017 8:30 am

What kind of TV are you using? I had on 30.2 Thursday night and the video was excellent as was the audio. I'm using an antenna as well.

User avatar
Splouge
Posts: 546
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 2:34 pm
Location: 9 miles from the laziest ever TV station, W33BY, or as they call themselves, WHPR TV

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by Splouge » Fri May 26, 2017 11:26 am

WOHO wrote:
Fri May 26, 2017 8:30 am
What kind of TV are you using? I had on 30.2 Thursday night and the video was excellent as was the audio. I'm using an antenna as well.
It was Monday night and Tuesday morning
One time, I got WYZZ Peoria 330 miles away indoors clearly for 10 minutes on Dec 5, 2015

User avatar
Splouge
Posts: 546
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 2:34 pm
Location: 9 miles from the laziest ever TV station, W33BY, or as they call themselves, WHPR TV

Re: Is WGTE a LPTV?

Post by Splouge » Sat Jul 01, 2017 11:41 am

Once again, there is audio distortion on 30.2, and the WGTE logo is showing on 30.1 even during commercial breaks.
One time, I got WYZZ Peoria 330 miles away indoors clearly for 10 minutes on Dec 5, 2015

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests