Hello! Welcome to the Michigan Radio & TV Buzzboard. All accepted new account registrations through 2-20-2018 at 5:30p ET have been activated. I apologize for the delay in activating newly registered accounts.

(Note: hover your mouse pointer near the upper right corner of this box and click the "x" to close it.)

ATSC 3.0 may get started soon

The place to chat about audio/video devices & software, computer hardware & software, and other electronic gadgets.
Marcus
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: Sarnia, Ontario

ATSC 3.0 may get started soon

Post by Marcus » Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:04 pm

http://www.broadcastingcable.com/news/w ... nth/171487
https://www.atsc.org/
http://www.electronicdesign.com/communi ... me-atsc-30

I am now wondering who will broadcast with it first and when TV's with built in Next-Gen tuners will be sold in stores.

User avatar
SolarMax
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 5:59 pm
Location: 313

Re: ATSC 3.0 may get started soon

Post by SolarMax » Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:25 pm

I don't think we'll see any ATSC 3.0 in this area and most others until stations get through the challenges of the repack. There will be a lot of things to work out to provide both ATSC 3 and ATSC, which could involve some interesting RF channel sharing agreements.

organman95
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 9:49 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0 may get started soon

Post by organman95 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:22 pm

SolarMax wrote:
Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:25 pm
I don't think we'll see any ATSC 3.0 in this area and most others until stations get through the challenges of the repack. There will be a lot of things to work out to provide both ATSC 3 and ATSC, which could involve some interesting RF channel sharing agreements.
Most likely not. Detroit will have it figured out (if they haven't already). Grand Rapids will be a close second. Don't know about Lansing or Bay City/Saginaw/Flint, but I know Northern Michigan will take some time to get there.

Nelson
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 6:48 pm
Location: East Jordan, MI

Re: ATSC 3.0 may get started soon

Post by Nelson » Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:26 am

Can't say I'm looking forward to ATSC 3. I don't see what benefit it provides for lil' ol' me! I'm not interested in buying a new TV and I'd rather not use a converter box.

organman95
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 9:49 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0 may get started soon

Post by organman95 » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:07 pm

Nelson wrote:
Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:26 am
Can't say I'm looking forward to ATSC 3. I don't see what benefit it provides for lil' ol' me! I'm not interested in buying a new TV and I'd rather not use a converter box.
I really don't think there is much of a purpose to it. I highly doubt you'll need a new TV.

User avatar
SolarMax
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 5:59 pm
Location: 313

Re: ATSC 3.0 may get started soon

Post by SolarMax » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:50 pm

There's a whole lot of purpose to it, much of which is to position broadcast TV to remain competitive with streaming services, and to provide transmission and distribution technology that's both current and somewhat "future-proof."

User avatar
RingtailedFox
Posts: 458
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: A raccoon's nest high up in a tree in west Windsor, Ontario
Contact:

Re: ATSC 3.0 may get started soon

Post by RingtailedFox » Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:29 pm

at the very least, you will need a new converter box, because it uses an entirely different modulation scheme (COFDM instead of 8VSB), in addition to new video and audio codecs (H.265 Video and MPEG-H and Dolby AC-4) and a new resolution (3840x2160p).
~ The Legendary Raccoon-Fox has spoken!

organman95
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 9:49 pm

Re: ATSC 3.0 may get started soon

Post by organman95 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:08 pm

RingtailedFox wrote:
Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:29 pm
at the very least, you will need a new converter box, because it uses an entirely different modulation scheme (COFDM instead of 8VSB), in addition to new video and audio codecs (H.265 Video and MPEG-H and Dolby AC-4) and a new resolution (3840x2160p).
Will there be backward compatibility for old video codecs and resolutions? This is ridiculous...

Marcus
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:08 pm
Location: Sarnia, Ontario

Re: ATSC 3.0 may get started soon

Post by Marcus » Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:47 pm

RingtailedFox wrote:
Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:29 pm
at the very least, you will need a new converter box, because it uses an entirely different modulation scheme (COFDM instead of 8VSB), in addition to new video and audio codecs (H.265 Video and MPEG-H and Dolby AC-4) and a new resolution (3840x2160p).
I welcome COFDM because the current system is no good with multipath meaning I cannot get CHCH-TV most of the time because of it. I have also read that RF channels 2-6 will work better with it than with 8 VSB.

User avatar
SolarMax
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 5:59 pm
Location: 313

Re: ATSC 3.0 may get started soon

Post by SolarMax » Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:15 pm

organman95 wrote:
Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:08 pm
Will there be backward compatibility for old video codecs and resolutions? This is ridiculous...
Not at all ridiculous.
Yes, broadcasts in ATSC 1.0 (what's in use now) will remain available for some time to come, possibly up to ten years, as ATSC 3.0 is rolled out.
How exactly that will happen hasn't yet been determined. Nobody will be compelled to buy a nice new 65" 4K HDR receiver *. Since current consumer electronics, like many other things, are not built with longevity in mind, your current TV will probably need replacing by the time ATSC 1.0 is switched off.

* we may end up with set-top boxes anyway. Many new units are being sold as "Displays," not as TVs or receivers, having no internal RF tuners and demods, just a cluster of input and output connectors.

User avatar
RingtailedFox
Posts: 458
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: A raccoon's nest high up in a tree in west Windsor, Ontario
Contact:

Re: ATSC 3.0 may get started soon

Post by RingtailedFox » Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:34 pm

I don't see why older codecs would be abandoned, at least not yet... MPEG-2, while ancient (finalized in 1992 or so), is still used by stations in Canada and Mexico, and I don't know if those two countries will be switching to ATSC 3.0, so stations sold in the three countries would almost certainly have to include MPEG-2 and MPEG-4 codecs in them for consumers to receive signals properly...
~ The Legendary Raccoon-Fox has spoken!

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests